The 5 Stages of Grief + Baking

I got a new iPhone last week. This was after my old once accidentally got tossed in the wash.

Oops.

I can say that now because I have a new phone. And went through the five stages of grief.

Denial: Me, running to the laundry room: Nooo! It’s not in the wash, it’s not in the wash.

Anger: WHY?!?!?!?

Bargaining: Me, after obsessively Googling “Washed iPhone” for two hours: If the rice trick works, I will never, ever complain about anything again.

Depression: I suck. I don’t deserve a Smartphone.

Acceptance: I bought the replacement plan after I ruined my last phone? Yay!

Until I realized that getting a new phone wouldn’t cost that much, I was pretty stressed out. When I’m stressed, I bake.

My colleagues compared the Rolo Cheesecake Bars to crack.

That’s a good thing.

ROLO CHEESECAKE BARSrolo cheesecake1

For the crust:

  • 1 1/2 cups of graham cracker crumbs
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 6 tablespoons of butter, melted

For the cheesecake:

  • 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1/3 cup caramel sauce
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cup mini Rolos

For the topping:

  • 8 ounces dark chocolate
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1/4 cup caramel sauce

To make the crust: Mix the graham cracker crumbs, sugar and butter and press them into the bottom of a greased 8 inch square baking pan.

Bake in a preheated 350-degree oven until lightly golden brown, about 8 to 10 minutes and set aside.

For the cheesecake: Cream the cream cheese, mix in the caramel sauce followed by the sugar, the egg, the vanilla extract and finally the mini Rolos and pour the mixture into the baking pan.

Bake in the oven at 350 degrees until the cheesecake is set, about 30 to 35 minutes, set aside and let cool.

For the chocolate topping: Melt the chocolate and butter in a double boiler, mixing until smooth and pour the chocolate over the cheesecake.

Place the caramel sauce in the corner of a small bag, cut a small hole in the corner and slowly squeeze out the caramel creating lines across the chocolate. Use a toothpick to make lines in the caramel going in the other direction to create the wave-like pattern.

Recipe courtesy of: www.closetcooking.com

Leave a Reply

