Those who can’t do, eat

I have a theory that every chef, home cook, culinary student or whatever has one recipe that they make very well and one that they can’t make at all.

Mine is sugar cookies.

For as long as I can remember, I have not been able to make a decent batch of sugar cookies. I mastered making crepes while still in elementary school, but every attempt at sugar cookies either turned out too hard (my brothers used one batch as baseballs) or soupy.

Many have tried to help me overcome my sugar cookie failures. My friend Susie even gave me her no-fail recipe, but that was another checkmark in my ever-growing list of failed attempts.

I even struggle to make pre-made sugar cookie dough viable for Christmas cutout cookies. Sugar cookies are my cooking Achilles’ heel!

My daughter came home with a copy of “My Beary Own Cookbook” from Build-A-Bear Workshop Friday afternoon. (My husband took both kids to the mall as a thank you for their hard work during “Rake Fest 2012.” He names things to trick the kids into thinking that they’re having fun. It worked until I said that to my daughter and she told Scott. Oops!) The freebie cookbook came with several cookie cutters, so Emma asked me if she could make sugar cookies. I said yes, but that I’d be no help because I can’t make sugar cookies.

She can.

Emma’s cookies turned out perfectly. The thin ones were crunchy, the thick ones chewy and both kids had a ball decorating them while I pouted over my inability to do something my 11-year-old can do. (I didn’t pout, but I did eat a few cookies to make myself feel better.)

I guess I know who’s making the sugar cookies for Christmas this year!

BEARY SWEET SUGAR COOKIES

My kids like sprinkles!

  • 2 ½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • ¾ teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • ¾ cup butter, softened
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 ½ teaspoon vanilla extract

In a small bowl, stir flour, baking powder and salt; set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, beat sugar and butter until creamy. Add eggs and vanilla extract and beat well. Then, slowly mix in flour mixture until well blended. Divide dough into four portions. Cover and chill for 1 to 2 hours.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. On a lightly floured surface, roll one portion of dough at a time to 1/8 inch thickness. Dip cookie cutters in flour and cut cookies. Place cookies 1 inch apart on ungreased baking sheets/ Lightly sprinkle sugar before baking if not frosting cookies after baking.

Bake for 7 to 9 minutes or until edges are light brown. Cool cookies on wire racks. Store in airtight containers in a cool place.

Recipe courtesy of My Beary Own Cookbook from Build-A-Bear Workshop.

2 responses

  1. I’m so glad I’m not the only one to keep failing at sugar cookies! I planned to make some on the day of our Christmas party last year and it was a serious disaster. I’ll have to give the Beary Sweet recipe a chance! 🙂

Leave a Reply

