A is for apple

I was talking to B about football this morning. Actually, he was talking to me about football and I was making appropriate “Uh-huh” and “Really?” comments.

I’ve told him I know nothing about football and don’t care to learn. He chooses to ignore that.

I finally got him off the subject when I asked if he’d had breakfast.

“No. We’re out of doughnuts. I’ll eat at lunch.”

B is a wonderful kid. Seriously, no complaints about him at all. Well, one. He’s stubborn. And one of the things he’s most stubborn about it being a picky eater. Once the kid decides he hates something, it will take an act of god to change his mind. Case in point: breakfast. He hates cereal. He refuses to eat in the kitchen if anyone is having cereal. He would rather skip a meal than force himself to eat cereal.

There’s no way he’ll survive college.

Being the great parent I can be at rare times, I made him pancakes. I wanted to knock out another apple recipe, so I made four plain pancakes for B, then punched up the batter to make fruit slice pancakes for the rest of us.

We just have to remember to buy doughnuts today.

FRUIT SLICE PANCAKES

  • 1 cup Bisquick
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon honey or agave nectar
  • Cooking spray
  • 2 to 3 apple or pears, cored, sliced across into rounds approximately 1/8-inch thick

Beat baking mix, egg and milk until smooth.

Add pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon and honey to batter and mix until blended.

Preheat Saladmaster 11-inch large skillet on medium heat (I don’t own one of these skillets, so I used a regular electric skillet and it worked fine). When several drops of water sprinkled on the pan skitter ad dissipate, spray skillet lightly with cooking spray.

Dip apple or pear slices into batter.

Cook until golden brown on both sides, turning once. Drizzle with syrup and serve with fruit.

Recipe courtesy of Saladmaster Corporate

One response

Leave a Reply

