Yet another one-act play

Setting: My kitchen at 6:30 a.m. Friday. I’m sipping a coffee from a cup roughly the size of my head.

Scott: How did you sleep?

Me: Not good. I didn’t get to bed until 2 a.m.

Scott: Why?

Me: I think it was that Diet Mt. Dew I had at dinner. (It was my first Diet Dew in nearly a week.)

Scott just looked at me.

Me: And maybe I screwed up on my knitting and couldn’t go to sleep until I fixed it.

Scott: Thought so.

***************

I tried knitting for the first time Thursday night. 

I’m not good at it.

Everyone at yarn shop kept saying, “You’re doing fine” and “It will get easier.”

I got home around 10 p.m. Thursday and knitted another row of my future hat or scarf. It looked awful, so I took the whole thing apart. I didn’t want to admit to anyone at the store that I took it apart, so I pulled up a YouTube video on how to cast on, and started over.

Several times.

***************

Scott: You know what that’s called, right?

Me: Trying real hard?

Despite my lack of sleep Friday, I still managed to work half a day, go to a board meeting, cook dinner for a friend and make sour cream apple bars. I even mopped the kitchen floor.

I also knitted.

I’m still not good at it.

Day 19: Sour Cream Apple Bars

SOUR CREAM APPLE BARS

  • 1 cup Land O Lakes® butter, softened
  • 1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 2 cups uncooked quick-cooking oats
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon allspice

Filling

  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 Land O Lakes® All-Natural Egg
  • 2 medium (2 cups) apples, unpeeled, shredded

Heat oven to 350°F. Combine butter and brown sugar in large bowl. Beat at medium speed until creamy. Add all remaining crust ingredients; continue beating until well mixed.

Press half of crust mixture onto bottom of ungreased 13×9-inch baking pan. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes or until light golden brown.

Meanwhile, combine all filling ingredients in large bowl; mix well. Pour filling over hot, partially baked crust. Crumble remaining crust mixture over filling and press down lightly.

Bake for 30 to 35 minutes or until top is golden brown and center is set. Cool completely. Cut into bars. Store refrigerated.

Recipe courtesy of http://www.landolakes.com/

Day 20: Morning Glory Muffins

I slept in today. Because I woke up late — and had to run because I skipped my run on Friday — I had to forgo the apple pancakes I was planning to make and went with muffins instead. Muffins can be consumed at any time. Pancakes? Not so much.

Well, except for brinner.

MORNING GLORY MUFFINS

  • 2 ¼ cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1 ¼ cups sugar
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 can (8 ounces) crushed pineapple, drained
  • 2 cups finely carrots
  • 1 large crisp apple, such as Fuji, Gala, or Honey Crisp
  • ½ cup shredded, sweetened coconut
  • ½ cup coarsely chopped pecans or walnuts
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Position a rack in the lower third of the oven and preheat the oven to 350°F. Butter 24 standard-size muffin cups or line them with cupcake liners.

Place the flour, sugar, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl and whisk well to combine. Add the pineapple, carrots, apple, raisins, and nuts and stir to combine.

Place the eggs, oil, and vanilla in a small bowl and whisk to combine well. Add the egg mixture to the flour mixture and stir until just combined. Spoon batter into the prepared muffin cups, filling them almost to the brim.

Bake the muffins until they are brown and a toothpick inserted in the center of one comes out clean, 30 to 35 minutes.

Place the muffin pan(s) on a wire rack and let the muffins cool for 10 minutes. Remove the muffins from the pan to finish cooling. The muffins can be stored in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 3 days or frozen for up to 2 months. Let the muffins thaw in the refrigerator overnight and return to room temperature before serving.

Recipe courtesy of The Apple Lover’s Cookbook by Amy Traverso

One response

  1. Those recipes look delicious. Knitting is one of those things you need to learn when you’re not tired. (Reading this I had visions of myself earlier this week desperately trying to stay awake long after my brain had gone to bed, determined to knit lace – haha). Have a go when you are rested – it will click into place. Promise! 🙂

Leave a Reply

