Chocolate and caramel goodness

I love chocolate and caramel. Ghirardelli’s chocolate and caramel squares are my most favorite candy in the entire universe, but I also love the Russell Stover chocolate and caramel candies, particularly those that pop up during the holidays in various shapes.

Caramel alone is pretty awesome, too, which is why discovering Kraft’s Premium Caramel Bits at Target the other day made a random shopping excursion a great adventure. Imagine what goodness you can make when you don’t have to take the time to unwrap dozens of caramel squares! (Especially when you are me and tend to eat one caramel square for every two you unwrap.)

I bought one bag (Look at that — restraint!) and flipped through my cookbooks for the perfect recipe. Then I turned to Google. Unfortunately, by that time I had opened the bag and discovered eating caramel in circular form was just as good as eating them as squares or covered in chocolate. Luckily, the recipe I decided to make only called for one cup of caramel bits. That’s all I had at that point.

This is a great cookie, but I do think I’ll use parchment paper the next time I make them. The caramel sticking to the cookie sheet made them difficult to remove. Then again, I kind of think I need new cookies sheets. I don’t want to spend the money if parchment paper will solve the problem, but how many batches of cookies do I potentially ruin as a search for a solution?

First world problems.

CHOCOLATE CARAMEL COOKIES

  • 2 cups flour
  • 2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup caramel bits or chopped up caramel squares
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Set oven to 350°F.

Stir together flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt. Set aside. In a large mixing bowl, beat butter, sugar. Add eggs and vanilla until fluffy. Gradually add flour mixture, beating well. Stir in caramel bits and chocolate chips. Drop by rounded teaspoons onto ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake 8 to 10 minutes or just until set. Cool on the pan for 10 minutes. Remove from cookie sheet to wire rack. Cool completely.

Recipe courtesy of Rookie Cookie

Leave a Reply

