Feeling the heat

As the food editor for a newspaper, I am in charge of writing a weekly column and providing content for a weekly food cover. There are times we run wire copy instead of local, but I’m proud to say we haven’t published a wire food cover since I returned from vacation in late June.

Yay me!

However, because our paper is going through a redesign, with my food section moving from Tuesday to Thursday, I was pretty sure the change in deadlines would mean we’d have to run a wire cover to get us through next week. I even told my editor I didn’t have an idea for next week’s food cover.

She responded by dumping a plastic bag of jalapenos on my desk.

“This is a quarter of what I have in my garden,” she said. “What am I supposed to do with them?”

So now I’m on a hunt for jalapeno recipes. I spoke with Mike of Jalapeno Madness this morning and will go knock on a complete stranger’s house this evening because they had a wheelbarrow full of free jalapeno peppers in their yard the other day.

Journalism is pretty awesome.

2 responses

    • I’ve found some good recipes, inlcuding one for pesto! I’m experimenting this weekend and should have a blog ready to go by Monday! I did find out that they will likely be hotter this year because of the summer’s dry weather. Interesting.

Leave a Reply

