It’s a bird! It’s a plane! No, it’s a tortilla!

I’ve started reviewing the cookbooks I receive at work on my work blog. To do this right, I have to make several recipes in each cookbook.

My life is hard.

Jessica Harlan’s “Tortillas to the Rescue” (Ulysses Press; Aug. 28, 2012) is the first cookbook I reviewed. This book promises 100 quick-and-east recipes, all using tortillas.

Guess what?

It’s pretty awesome.

I usually have a package of flour tortillas in the cupboard. I buy them for taco night, but I’ve been known to snack on one while watching TV or looking in the fridge for dinner idea. It never occurred to me that the tortilla I was gnawing on could be used to make a Southwestern Chicken Caesar Salad, Portobello, Red Pepper and Goat Cheese Fajitas, or Mexican Meatloaf.

This past weekend, I made the Calexico Burrito for myself and the PB&J Quesadilla for the kids. Both were quick, easy and delicious.

Again, my life is hard.

PB&J QUESADILLA

  • 2 small (6-inch) flour or whole wheat tortillas
  • 1 tablespoon crunchy peanut butter
  • 1 tablespoon jam

Spread the peanut butter on one tortilla. Spread the jam on another. Press the two pieces together to make a sandwich.

Heat a small skillet over medium heat. Place the quesadilla in the pan and cook until the tortilla begins to get toasty and the filling is warmed, about two minutes on each side. Remove from the pan and use a knife or a pizza wheel to slice into wedges.

NOTE: If you’re packing this for a lunch, don’t cook it.

Recipe courtesy of “Tortillas to the Rescue”

Leave a Reply

