I love this cookie!!!

I spent the last week of 2011 in New York City.

My husband was there for work – the Cyclones were playing in the Pinstripe Bowl – so I bought an airplane ticket to tag along and play tourist.

What do I miss most about my visit? The bakeries. It seemed like the city, and its outer boroughs, had a bakery every few blocks. The best bakeries were those tucked into neighborhoods. Imagine leaving your home to grab a loaf of fresh bread every morning. Doesn’t that sound like heaven?

A friend recommended (OK, he actually demanded) I visit Levain Bakery while checking out Central Park.

“Get the Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip cookie,” he said.

I listened to him. I found the bakery, ordered the cookie, took a bite and sent a text to my husband.

“I’m leaving you for a cookie,” I wrote.

I didn’t save any of the cookie for him, so he has yet to see why I made this decision.

Levain Bakery is kind enough to include links to wanna-be Levain bakers on their website. This recipe is pretty spot-on, so tonight my husband will try a cookie. Who knows if he’ll still be my husband tomorrow.

(If my kids are reading this – Mommy is joking! I am not leaving your dad for a cookie!)

DARK CHOCOLATE PEANUT BUTTER CHIP COOKIES

  • 2 sticks cold and cubed unsalted butter
  • 1 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup good unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp Kosher salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 2 cups peanut butter chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

With an electric mixer cream together butter and sugar until fluffy. Add eggs and beat until combined. Beat in cocoa powder.

Whisk together flour, salt and baking powder in a separate bowl. Beat dry ingredients into butter-sugar-cocoa mixture. Beat in chocolate and peanut butter chips.

Using a cookie scoop, form dough into round mounds and spread evenly on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper

Bake cookies for 10 minutes, or less if you like them fudgy. Remove cookies and let them cool on a wire rack.

One response

Leave a Reply

