No scones about it

I hate heat waves.

It was 95 degrees yesterday, with a heat index of 112 degrees. I spent the first five hours of my workday outside, including a couple of hours at the county fair, where I was a judge for an edible bug contest. (Participants made bugs out of real food. Some were pretty cute!)

As I drove back to the newsroom, with my car’s air conditioning on full blast, I promised myself I would not go outside anymore that day. So of course at 9 p.m. I had the great idea to bake blueberry scones. You know, because most sane people BAKE when the heat index is more than 100 degrees.

FRESH BLUEBERRY SCONES

  • 4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 6 tbsp sugar
  • 4-1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons cold butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup plus 2 tbsp milk, divided
  • 1-1/2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries

In a bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt; cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. In a bowl, whisk eggs and 3/4 cup milk; add to dry ingredients just until moistened. Turn onto a lightly floured surface; gently knead in the blueberries.

Divide the dough in half. Pat each portion into an 8-in. circle; cut each into eight wedges. Place on greased baking sheets. Brush with remaining milk. Bake at 375° for 15-20 minutes or until tops are golden brown. Serve warm.

Source: www.tasteofhome.com

Note: The dough will be dry, but mine seemed extra crumbly, so I added more milk while kneading in the fresh blueberries. They still turned out well. I didn’t put sugar on the top of the scones before baking, but i might try that next time. I think I’ll make these again this weekend, but this time using the raspberries I have in the fridge. Mmm.

“Friends” pop quiz. Who ordered a scone at Central Perk and pounded it to crumbs, shouting “Stupid British snack food!?” You won’t get a prize if you guess right, but I’ll think you’re pretty cool. What else do you need in life?

Leave a Reply

