That’s so cheesy

Confession.

I’ve stopped tracking my grocery costs and writing a weekly menu. Actually, I stopped tracking my grocery expenses, but kept writing a menu. I just rarely made any of the dishes on it.

I blame my lack on kitchen finesse the craziness that is the end of the school year. Both kids have had art shows and final concerts, Girl Scout meetings and final tests to study for. I see summer on the horizon and I am so ready for it!

With the last day of school just days away, I am attempting to get back on a food schedule. My weekend grocery trip cost me $185, which is a little high, but I co-hosted a baby shower on Saturday, so I had to make food for that. At least, that’s the excuse I’m using.

Here’s what my family is eating this week:

  • SUNDAY: Southwest beef salad with cornbread croutons (I love this salad!)
  • MONDAY: Tomato soup with cheddar cheese biscuits (recipe below)
  • TUESDAY: Sauteed chicken with mushrooms, served with pasta
  • WEDNESDAY: Going out to dinner with friends (Cheating, yes, but what can you do?)
  • THURSDAY: Chicken Francese with steamed asparagus
  • FRIDAY: Italian-style meatloaf and garlic bread
  • SATURDAY: TBD

Making out the menu if half the battle with the end-of-the-day dinner rush. Well, that and remembering to take the meat out of the freezer to that in the refrigerator.

QUICK CHEESE BISCUITS

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 11/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup shredded sharp Cheddar cheese
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 2/3 cup milk

Serves 8, although this really depends on how big you like your biscuits

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Combine flour, baking powder and salt in a medium bowl. Stir in Cheddar.

Cut in butter using a pastry blender or 2 knives until coarse crumbs form.

Using a fork. stir milk into flour mixture until a soft dough forms. Do not overmix or overwork the dough.

Drop dough in heaping teaspoons onto an ungreased baking sheet. Bake until biscuits are firm to the touch, about 15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

