La vida loca

I started a new job in January.

Well, a kind of, sort of new job.

I’m still a reporter for my current newspaper, but I changed beats, moving from K-12 education to food and features. I have wanted this beat for years, so I am thrilled to have it. However, because I write and blog and Facebook about food for my paying job, this blog has suffered.

I can only think of so many food puns in one day.

I’m not quitting this blog, but I wanted to explain why I’m not here as often. I’m still cooking up a storm, but the people who pay me get first dibs. The minute I win the lottery, though, that will change!

For now, enjoy this yummy Spanish Rice recipe. Super simple, super good and good for you, too. Win-win-win!

SPANISH RICE

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 medium white onion, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 cup long-grain white rice
  • 1 (15-ounce) can tomatoes
  • 11/2 cups reduced-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • Salt and pepper to taste

In a medium saucepan, heat oil over medium-high heat. Saute the onion for 3 minutes. Add the garlic and continue cooking until the onion is translucent and tender. Add the rice and saute for 3 to 4 minutes to coat with the oil and slightly brown.

Pour in the tomatoes, chicken broth and seasonings. Stir.

Cover and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to a simmer and cook for 20 minutes, or until the rice is tender. Fluff with a fork before serving. (I added some fresh cilantro to mine — that’s the green stuff you see in the picture.)

Recipe courtesy of Eat What You Love

Leave a Reply

