Fun with fungi

My husband is not an adventurous eater. He’s not picky, but he is very much a meat-and-potatoes person, which makes experimenting in the kitchen a crapshoot.

I cope with this by messing around with meals I know he’ll eat. Meatloaf, for example. I’ll try different spices or throw in some bacon. I’ve started adding pork sausage to chili and I change the toppings every time I make pizza.

Chicken with cream of mushroom soup is one of my husband’s favorite meals. At the most basic of levels, it is baked chicken with soup on top.

Basic is boring.

About a year ago I started sauteing mushrooms and onions, and adding that mixture to the canned soup. Wow! It brought the flavor up to a new level. Then I started adding cheese. Then I decided to saute the vegetables in broth for a richer flavor. Then I started using white wine.

All of these combinations went over well with the family (well, everyone but the boy), so now whenever I make Chicken with mushrooms, I base the sauce on whatever I have handy.

CHICKEN WITH MUSHROOMS

  • 1 pound of boneless, skinless chicken breasts 
  • 1 can cream of mushroom soup
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 to 2 cups fresh mushrooms, sliced
  • 3 green onions, sliced
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 1 tbsp butter

Brown chicken breasts in a skillet on medium to medium high heat until no longer pink in the center. Remove and keep warm.

Melt butter to the skillet. Add mushrooms, onions and wine. Saute for two minutes and remove from pan.

In a bowl, combine the milk and soup, stirring until smooth. Pour mixture into pan and warm. Add chicken breasts. Add mushroom mixture. Cook until chicken is finished.

Serve over rice or egg noodles.

Leave a Reply

