Waffling Around

My son used to love waffles.

Key words “used to.”

He was a fan of the Pillsbury waffles, which were discontinued in 2008. I will forever be mad at myself for not buying more the last day they were available in my grocer’s freezer.

I tried to get the boy to eat other toaster waffles, but he wasn’t having it. It seemed waffles had left his diet forever, but then we had a Christmas miracle!

OK, it was a Belgian waffle maker in the hotel we stayed at for Christmas, but the boy made a waffle and ate the whole thing. What else could I do but take my $50 Dillard’s gift card and buy a fancy-schmany Belgian waffle maker?

Mother of the Year 2012, here I come!

BUTTERMILK WAFFLES

  • 2 cups sifted flour
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 cups buttermilk
  • 4 eggs, separated
  • 1/2 cup melted butter

Heat waffle iron.

Sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Combine milk and egg yolks. Beat egg whites until stiff. Add milk egg yolk mixture to dry ingredients. Beat with electric mixer just enough to moisten dry ingredients. Stir in slightly cooled butter. Fold in egg whites, leaving little fluffs of them showing in batter.

Pour batter from pitcher into your waffle iron center. Close lid at once; do not open during baking.

Bake until steaming stops or signal light shows waffle is done. Loosen waffle with fork and lift it from grid. Place on warm place. 

I like my Belgian waffles with cherries and whipped cream. The boy likes syrup only and my daughter likes whipped cream only. I see a lot of weekend waffle bars in our future.

Recipe courtesy of cooks.com

Leave a Reply

