Inside, outside, upside down

I remember the first time I tried an Inside Out Oreo. We were still living in Missouri and a friend had brought over a tray of Christmas cookies, which had about 12 of these white-chocolate ball things. My husband tried one and was all “You have got to try this!”

I wasn’t hungry at the time. Or maybe I was angry he was eating someone else’s cookies. Who knows? (Actually, I think it was more being peeved about him eating someone else’s cookies after I had been baking up a storm, but I’m over it now. Really.)

I think there were only three Inside Out Oreos left when I finally had one.

Oh. My. God. So freaking good! And so stupid of me not to try one earlier.

I got the recipe. I made the cookies. I make them every holiday season now. I guess I can make them anytime during the year, but then they wouldn’t be special.

INSIDE OUT OREO COOKIES

  • 1 package of Oreo cookies
  • 1 8-ounce package of cream cheese, softened
  • Almond bark

Crush the Oreo cookies until they are a fine powder. A food processor works best, but you can put them in a bag and beat it with a rolling pin, too. The plan is to get the crumbs as fine as possible.

Beat the cream cheese, then add the Oreo crumbs.

Roll the batter into bite-sized balls. Place in the freezer for at least 30 minutes.

Melt the almond bark according to instructions on the package. Dip each Oreo ball in the almond bark until covered.

Place the balls on waxed paper and refrigerate until ready to serve.

Leave a Reply

