Better than the Chicken Dance …

There’s a restaurant in a small town about 30 miles away that my husband and I love. We tend to go there for special reasons — our anniversary, a birthday or the fact that the kids are at the grandparents’ house for a few days.

I order the same thing every time — Chipolte Steak. I love chipolte sauce. Love it! There was a cafeteria at my last job and twice a week the pasta area served Chipolte Pasta, and I ordered it every time.

It’s the one thing I truly miss about that place.

I have tried to duplicate the recipe and have come close a few times, but my versions tend to be too one flavor, not enough of another. Too much BBQ sauce taste, too much garlic, too much chipolte paste.

Then guess what I saw at the grocery store Friday night?

I don’t eat at Taco Bell anymore, thanks to a certain video that was all over the news 5 years ago. But this made me happy, so I brought it home and tried a chipolte chicken recipe I found online a few months ago.

Success!

It had than spice I wanted, with a little kick but not so much that my husband couldn’t handle it (he is not a fan of spicy food).

And they say fast food is bad for you …

CHIPOLTE CHICKEN

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 chicken breasts cut in half
  • Season salt
  • 4 ounces heavy cream
  • 3 ounces chipolte sauce
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 9 ounces penne pasta, cooked
  • 2 ounces Parmesan cheese, grated
  • 1 diced rosa tomato
  • 1 tbsp diced onions

Drizzle olive oil on the chicken on all sides. Season the chicken and let marinade for 10 minutes. In a saute pan over high heat, add olive oil and the chicken. Cook the chicken until both sides are cooked thoroughly. Remove the chicken from the pan and slice them into 1/2 inch thick bites.

In the same pan, add onions, cream, chipolte sauce, salt and pepper over medium heat. When the cream starts to bubble, reduce the heat to low and add the sliced chicken, cooked pasta and the cheese.

Serve in pasta bowl and garnish with diced tomatoes and more Parmesan cheese, if desired.

Leave a Reply

