It’s gettin’ hot in here

It’s too hot to cook. I’m tired of grilling. I am seriously having fantasies about soup and stew and grilled cheese sandwiches — things I really want to eat if it wasn’t 90+ degrees outside.

So as I impatiently wait for fall to arrive, I have compiled a lost of my favorite summer-friendly foods. Enjoy!

Bruschetta

My husband and I had this for dinner last night, after our family game of water balloon baseball and during our continued Scrabble tournament. Yes, I had to turn on the oven to toast the bread, but this was a cool, not heavy yet filling meal. The next time we grill, I will top my chicken with this. I think it will be a winner.

Grapes. Cheese. Bread.

My mom used to serve this when she couldn’t stand cooking in the summer. She called it French night. We usually sat on the porch and ate, sometimes off paper plates (which was awesome since dishes was my sister’s and my chore and we didn’t have a dishwasher at that time). My kids are all for it, especially when French bread is included.

BLTs

The microwave is our summer cooking savior.

Cold pasta salad

You’ll need to turn on the stove to boil the pasta, but that shouldn’t increase your kitchen temperature too much. I like to mix my pasta salad with red and green peppers, red onions, chopped carrots and slices of mozzarella cheese. If I happened to bake come chicken when it was cooler outside, I chop that up and throw it in, too.

Reservations

Sometimes, you just need to go out to eat.

Leave a Reply

