One potato, two potato

My husband did the grocery shopping the other day. I had put potatoes on the list.

I should have specified I only wanted a few baking potatoes. He came home with a 5-pound bag.

If it were cooler outside, this wouldn’t be a big deal, but we are in day 6 of a heat wave — average temps of 95 degrees with a heat index of hell. It’s not the weather for potato soup, baked potatoes or all those other potato dishes that are great from October through March. I could make potato salad, but my husband is watching his carb intake, so …

I used a few of the potatoes Tuesday night, cubing steak and cooking it with onions in a brown butter sauce. I served the whole thing on top of mashed potatoes. It was good.

But I still have more than two pounds of potatoes left.

My sister and her husband came over for dinner last night. We grilled burgers and I made sweet corn. Mashed potatoes aren’t really a hamburger side dish, so I quartered about a pound of potatoes and tossed them with various seasoning. We placed them in a foil bag and grilled them for almost 40 minutes.

Very yummy.

I’m at a loss for the last pound, though.

SEASONED POTATO FRIES

  •  1 pound potatoes, quartered
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • Parmesan cheese, optional

Place potatoes in a large bowl. Add olive oil and stir. Add all spices and stir until mixed.

Spray a sheet of foil with non-stick cooking spray. Pour potatoes onto foil. Use more foil to create a pocket. Seal.

Place on grill for about 30 minutes — time varies by heat of grill. You can sprinkle with cheese before serving.

2 responses

  1. How about hash browns or other breakfast potatoes….I seldom make them but am quick to order them when we have breakfast out. Love you!! Vallie

  2. I bought a 3 lbs bag because it’s hard to get potatoes down here. I only used half before the other 1.5 lbs rotted because of the heat and the humidity. I only had them a week. I guess there’s a reason grits are everywhere, potatoes are a delicacy!

Leave a Reply

