“How’s your burger? Eat up and I’ll tell ya.”

Dumb and Dumber. What a fantastically stupid movie.

I love cheeseburgers. Whenever I go out to eat, I either order chicken or a cheeseburger. A college roommate once called me a food snob. I prefer to think of it as cautious. When are paying to eat, wouldn’t it suck if you didn’t like the meal?

With the weather finally acting more like spring, my husband is into full grilling mode.

Here’s something you need to know about us. We are not good at grilling hamburgers. They fall apart. Every time. So we buy the pre-made frozen patties and they work OK, but they aren’t great.

I don’t know why we waited so long, but we finally bought some of the pre-made burgers from our grocery butcher and YUM! They were awesome! I had mine with sautéed onions, mushrooms and provolone cheese.

Burger heaven.

I know we’re supposed to have red meat only once a week, but I’ll increase my morning run time to make up the difference.

PERFECT SAUTEED ONIONS AND MUSHROOMS

  • 1 cup sliced white onion
  • 1 cup sliced mushrooms
  • 4 tbsp butter
  • Splash of whiskey

Melt butter in skillet over medium high heat. Add mushrooms and onions. The pan will be crowded at first, but both will cook down over time. Stir so they don’t burn.

Add whiskey. Reduce heat to medium and simmer until sauce reduces.

Serve over hamburgers or steak.

Leave a Reply

