Hoppy Easter!

I know ham is synonomous with Easter dinner, much like turkey is Thanksgiving’s traditional meal.

But I don’t like ham.

I was, at one time in my life, against all pork products. There was no particular reason for this. I just liked saying I didn’t eat a certain kind of food. It felt cool.

While I’m still not a huge pork fan, I will eat the occasional piece of bacon. I love the smell of sausage and will throw some in chili. Pork chops are awesome. Ham, however, just never cut it for me. It’s too salty, in my opinion.

So we didn’t have ham for Easter dinner. We had pot roast and vegetables and bruschetta and cheesecake.

I don’t think the ham was missed.

POT ROAST WITH POTATOES AND CARROTS

  • 3 to 3 1/2 lb of  boneless chuck roast
  • onion soup mix, two packets
  • 1 cup water
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 pound red potatoes, washed and cubed
  • 1 cup baby carrots

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.

Pour oil in a dutch oven and heat on the stove, medium high. Add roast, browning on all sides, about 8 minutes. Turn heat to medium if oil starts to smoke.

Mix onion soup packets and two cups of water. Pour over roast. Bring pan to a simmer.

Put Dutch Oven into stove and bake for three hours. Add potatoes and carrots, and cook for another 30 to 40 minutes.

Remove meat and vegetables on a serving platter. Cover with foil and rest for 5 minutes before serving.

(Feel free to use the excess liquid to make gravy. I was without a dishwasher yesterday — my new one was installed this morning — so my goal was to use as few dishes as possible, hence no gravy. It was a good excuse to indulge in a bigger piece of cheesecake. I’ll have a recipe for that tomorrow.”

Leave a Reply

