I may have to rethink my stance on tomatoes

My husband and I celebrated our 12th wedding anniversary a few days ago.

12 years. Wow.

It seems like such a long time and such a short time. We met because of a tornado and we were engaged six months later. We were married a couple of months before our “one year of knowing each other ” anniversary.

It’s a great story. I’m lucky because we have a great marriage to go with it.

To celebrate, we went out to dinner the other night, just the two of us, to one our favorite restaurants. Italian food was the theme of the night, beginning with a bruschetta appetizer.

Yes, I am not a fan of tomatoes, but for some strange reason I love bruschetta — so much so that I made some of my own.

 

GARDEN-FRESH BRUSCHETTA

  • 1 clove garlic, peeled and halved
  • 14 slices French bread, about 3/4-inch thick
  • 4 Roma tomatoes, seeded and diced
  • 1/4 cup chopped red onion
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp fresh basil, minced
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp pepper
  • 1 tbsp parmesan cheese, grated

Rub cut side of garlic over one side of each slice of bread. Place bread garlic side down on an ungreased baking sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 5 minutes on each side or until lightly browned.

In a bowl, combine the tomatoes, onion, oil, minced basil, salt and pepper; spoon about 2 tablespoons onto each piece of toast.

Enjoy with a glass of white wine on you deck, balcony, front stoop, backyard, etc.

Recipe courtesy of my AllRecipes app on my new iPhone (Anniversary present! The phone, not the app.)

One response

  1. Pingback: Hoppy Easter! « What's Cooking?

Leave a Reply

