“Aw — good for Fat Biscuit”

(If you don’t have kids in elementary school, you won’t get the Victorious reference. Moving on.)

My husband and I took the kids to the Twin Cities last month for spring break. It wasn’t a huge trip, just a nice little three-day getaway for everyone. We spent most of our trip at the Mall of America, doing the amusement park one day and shopping the next.

As a part-time book store employee, I love checking out book stores, but rarely do I buy anything. Why pay full price when I have a discount at my store, right? That being said, when we drove past a Borders sporting a “Going out of Business” banner, we made a quick stop.

Do I feel guilty capitalizing on the loss of others? Yes.

Should I let that ruin shopping for books at 40 to 60 percent off? No.

One of the books I bought was called Hungry for Happiness by James Villas. It’s a story about Loretta Crawford, a Texas woman who was once huge. She had surgery and lost 100 pounds, and is now trying to find her place in the world.

This book had potential, but I didn’t care for Loretta. Also, the way all the characters spoke was annoying. I’m not from Texas, I’ve never been to Texas, but I seriously doubt the people there say “Bub” and “Honey” all the time. I felt like the book never really started. It read more like a series of short stories featuring the same characters than a novel.

It’s saving grace, I think, was the fact that Loretta was an aspiring caterer. Reading her descriptions of the food she cooked — but rarely ate — was a definite high point, as were the recipes at the end of the book.

The late 90s were all about Bridget Jones-type books. The trend now is cookbooks as novels. I love both equally.

Being a Southern girl, Loretta talked about biscuits a lot, so I decided to make some the night I made beef stew.

 

They turned out pretty good. You have to be careful with biscuits. Work with them too much, they’ll be hard as rocks. Don’t work with them enough, they’ll fall apart.

I didn’t try Loretta’s recipe, electing to go with one a little healthier.

BUTTERMILK BISCUITS

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3 tbsp cold butter
  • 3/4 to 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 tbsp fat-free milk

Combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt; cut in butter until mixture resembles course crumbs. Stir in enough buttermilk to moisten dough.

Turn onto a lightly floured surface; knead 4 to 4 times. Pat or roll to 3/4-inch thickness. Cut with a floured 21/2-inch biscuit cutter. (I used a drinking glass.)

Place on a baking sheet and brush with milk. Bake at 450 degrees for 12 to 15 minutes, or until golden brown.

Recipe courtesy of Taste of Home Guilt Free Cooking

Leave a Reply

