Stewing it over

Normally, I am not a fan of beef stew. I don’t know why. It’s just one of those foods that have never appealed to me.

The first time I remember having beef stew by choice was about an hour after my son was born. Of course, it had been about 20 hours since my last meal, so I was pretty willing to eat anything at that point. It was served over cornbread, which still strikes me as kind of gross. I’d rather dip the bread, you know?

Anyway, Iowa is a pretty fickle state when it comes to spring temperatures, so I decided to make beef stew the other night. It was quite yummy. I didn’t have enough beef broth on hand, so I added a cup of red wine and I think that gave it a little more oomph. I served it with homemade biscuits and everyone went to bed with happy stew bellies.

BEEF AND RED WINE STEW

  • 1 1/2 pounds stew beef
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon seasoned salt
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons olive oil or canola oil
  • 1 to 2 medium carrots, sliced
  • 2 ribs celery, sliced
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 potato, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 cups beef broth
  • 1 cup dry red wine
  • 1/2 teaspoon fresh chopped rosemary, or a dash of crumbled dried rosemary

Trim stew beef and cut in small bite-size pieces. Put in a food storage bag with the flour, onion powder, and seasoned salt; toss to coat well.

Heat oil in a large saucepan or Dutch oven over medium heat; add beef to hot oil and cook, stirring, until lightly browned. Add the onion and celery; continue cooking, stirring, for about 3 minutes.

Add carrots, garlic, broth, wine, and rosemary; bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low; cover and simmer for 30 minutes. Continue cooking for about 20 to 30 minutes, or until beef is tender.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: “Aw — good for Fat Biscuit” « What's Cooking?

Leave a Reply

