Hard shell vs. soft shell

I love the Old El Paso commercials where it shows families trying to decide which tacos to make for dinner — hard shell or soft shell.

I embraced the “Why don’t we have both?” concept last night, making a taco spread that gave my family their choice. Here’s what happened:

My daughter had two hard shell tacos with beef, lettuce and cheese. When I asked if she wanted sour cream or tomatoes, she said “Ew.”

My husband had three soft shells tacos with beef, lettuce, cheese, tomatoes and sour cream.

I had two soft shell tacos with beef, lettuce, cheese and sour cream. I threw on some tomatoes for color, but I didn’t eat them.

My younger sister had two hard shell tacos with  beef, lettuce, cheese, tomatoes and sour cream.

And my son had peanut butter and Ritz crackers and grapes.

I am not a hard shell fan. Once, when I was little, my mom made tacos and my dad got a piece of the hard shell stuck in his throat. He was fine. He just drank water until it was soggy enough to swallow. But it’s one of those things that sticks with you, you know?

Leave a Reply

