Sunny side up

Every Sunday, for the past few weeks anyway, I join my friends Jennifer and Mary for Writer’s Group. We meet. We talk. We write. Sometimes we do more of the talking than the writing, but it’s all good!

The Writer’s Group usually meets at Panera, but because I have kids and my husband is all over the place this time of year (when will basketball season end?!?), we’ve been meeting at each other’s homes. It was my turn to host last weekend, so I made lemon poppy seed bread and scrambled egg muffins.

This is not my photo. I pulled it from the Internet because the muffins I made were eaten before I took a picture.

The scrambled egg muffins are basically eggs, sausage and veggies baked in a muffin tin — all the protein in half the time! I was going to use my new mini muffin pans to make muffins, but I had baked 100 mini Devil’s Food cupcakes the day before for the Abraham Lincoln party and was already on mini muffin overload. 

SCRAMBLED EGG MUFFINS

  • 1/2 pound bulk pork sausage
  • 12 eggs
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1/4 cup chopped green pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 cup shredded Cheddar cheese

In a skillet, cook the sausage over medium heat until no longer pink; drain. In a bowl, beat the eggs. Add onion, green pepper, salt, pepper and garlic powder. Stir in sausage and cheese.

Spoon by 1/3 cupfuls into greased muffin cups. Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes or until a knife inserted near the center comes out clean.

Recipe courtesy of The Taste of Home Baking Book

Leave a Reply

