It feels like spring

It was so funny seeing people out and about today. It was 32 degrees outside, after several days of sub-zero highs, and you would think it was April the way everyone was dressed. No winter coats, no hats. Gloves? Forget it!

SPRING IS ON THE WAY!

Spring makes me think of farmer’s markets. We have several great farmer’s markets in the area and I love spending an hour or so every weekend just checking out all the goodies. I buy vegetables, of course, but I’m also a big fan of the baked goods. (OK, I buy more of the baked good than the vegetables. What of it?)

There’s one woman who has a table at every farmer’s market I go to, and that’s great because I love her lemon poppy seed bread. Love it! It is perfectly baked, moist and not crummy. It never lasts more than a day at my house, but I bet if it did it would still taste fresh.

I think I found a recipe similar to hers, as the bread I made today has a similar taste and texture. It was easy to make, too. Bonus!

Interesting note. When I went to the grocery store to buy poppy seeds for the bread, I had to go to the cigarette counter and ask for them. Yep, apparently people were buying tons for non baking purposes. I asked for a small container so I would not seem like a shady customer.

LEMON POPPY SEED BREAD

  • 1 box white cake mix
  • 1 box instant lemon pudding mix
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 4 tsp poppy seeds

In a mixing bowl, combine the mixes, eggs, water and oil; beat until well mixed. Fold in poppy seeds.

Pour into two greased 9 inch by 5 inch loaf pans. Bake at 350 degrees for 35 to 40 minutes or until bread tests done.

Cool  in pans for 1o minutes before moving to a wire racks.

One response

  1. Pingback: Sunny side up « What's Cooking?

Leave a Reply

