The pancakes vs. French toast debate

Another round of “brinner” tonight.

My husband made a request for French toast, so I sent him out for Texas toast and started cooking the bacon. (Our son wanted pancakes. Everyone else voted for French toast, hence the bacon. I don’t like it, but the kid does, so I made lots to appease him.)

My son loves pancakes. He thinks French toast is “gross.” He won’t give specifics why. He just refuses to eat it.

If I had to choose between French toast and pancakes, and I’m going to or else this post really has no purpose, I’m going with French toast. Here’s why:

You really can’t mess up French toast. You have to keep an eye on pancakes. Wait too long, they burn. Flip too early and you have a mess. And sometimes, even when they look perfect, they are runny inside.

Sweet, but not too sweet. You can have French toast with syrup, fresh fruit, canned fruit, powdered sugar — the possibilities are endless. You can do that with pancakes, too, but it seems too much.

French toast isn’t as heavy. I have to agree with the husband on this one. Pancakes are yummy, but they do kind of sit in your belly and make me want to nap.

Pancakes never taste as good at home as they do at IHOP or Perkins. It doesn’t matter what recipe I try. My pancakes are never as airy.

OK, it’s not a long list, but a list nonetheless. We had a nice family dinner tonight. It was fun having everyone home for a change.

FRENCH TOAST

  • 6 eggs
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • Texas toast, 1 loaf

Mix the ingredients together. Dip the French toast in the liquid mixture and cook on a hot skillet, about 90 seconds. Flip and cook the other side. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

