Leftovers, schmeftovers

So a few weeks into my food-related New Year’s resolutions, I’ve found that I’m really good at planning my menus, but not so good at sticking to them.

Take tonight, for instance. I didn’t cook anything. We had leftovers, instead. And that’s OK. I had spaghetti and meatballs. My son had hot dogs. My daughter and husband finished off the French toast. Everyone was happy and now my food storage containers are being washed in the dishwasher.

So why do I feel like I failed?

Work certainly got in the way this week. I worked late Monday night. I stayed at the office later tonight than I had planned. Same thing Wednesday night. Thursday night my kids really wanted to go to movie night at their school, so I whipped up some spaghetti and meatballs for dinner because I knew I could make that fast and everyone would eat it. (By everyone, I mean my son who is a very picky eater. He still wasn’t thrilled because I used fettucine instead of spaghetti.)

Next week won’t be better. My daughter has Girl Scouts Monday night. Tuesday is taekwando for my son. I have a Girls on the Run meeting Wednesday. Thursday is taekwando again. Friday I have early morning appointment. Then there’s that crazy thing called work that takes up all other hours of my life, plus a family commitment that is going to take some time to get used to.

Do you ever feel like you have all these balls in the air and if you take your eyes off them for one second, they all come crashing down?

So I didn’t cook tonight. And now I’m going to play a game of Scrabble with my husband before he flies out for another road trip.

One day at a time. All you can do it take it one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

