Tastes just like chicken

There’s a book I read a lot when I was younger, Invisible Lissa. It’s about an elementary school girl (I think she was in 5th grade) going through one of those rough patches with her classmates, when she’s on the outside looking in.

The school’s resident mean girl, Debra, has it out for Lissa and makes thing worse by creating her super-secret club, FUNCHY. While every girl in 5th grade is dying to be a member, Lissa tries to hide her wish to join by focusing on a school project and hanging out in the library during lunchtime. (Side note: We were never allowed to just hang out in the school library in elementary school. We visited during specific times during the week and that was it. Same thing in middle school. It wasn’t even open early or late for students who wanted to study. Was my school district just mean or is that the norm?)

Lissa is eventually asked to join FUNCHY, when her BFF blackmails Debra to include Lissa.

Ah, friendship.

It turns out FUNCHY stands for Fun Lunches. All club members gather together to share food and talk.

The reason FUNCHY is on my mind was because I had time this morning to make my lunch to take to work today — chicken salad. My favorite. It would have been a hit with the FUNCHY crowd.

CHICKEN SALAD

  • Chicken, cooked and cubed
  • Mayonnaise
  • Curry
  • Salt and pepper
  • Red and green grapes
  • Slivered almonds

This  isn’t a specific recipe. I eyeball everything until I get the consistency I want. I usually make enough for a few days worth of lunches (and some late-night snacking, shh!). To do this, I use two cooked boneless, skinless chicken breasts. I dice them into small cubes and set aside.

Add mayonnaise in a large bowl, about 1/4 of a cup. You can always add more. Stir in curry powder (about a teaspoon), a dash of salt and pepper. Add the chicken to the mix. If it looks to dry, go ahead and add more mayonnaise. Take a taste. If you want more seasonings, go ahead.

Slice red and green grapes in half and add to chicken mix. I usually toss in a cup’s worth.

Throw in a handful for slivered almonds for texture. Mix everything together and enjoy! This tastes great on bread or spread on crackers. You can even eat it plain. 

Oh, and if you want to know how Invisible Lissa ends, she calls Debra out on the stupidity of the club and, one by one, the other girls agree and walk away. Debra isn’t happy and the ‘remain true to yourself’ lesson prevails yet again.

Leave a Reply

