Stir crazy

Me: I’m going to make stir fry tonight.

My husband: There’s a lot of snow outside. Do you really want me to grill?

That’s an inside joke. My husband loves to grill. Loves it. Chicken. Steak. Hamburgers. Steak. Fish. Steak. I love it, too, although I do believe there is such a thing as too much steak.

Eventually.

So last summer, whenever I told my husband I was making stir fry for dinner, he’d say he was planning to grill. It got to be a thing. (No, it isn’t the funniest story  in the world, but it makes us laugh.)

My chicken stir fry recipe is something I came up with a few years ago. It is super simple, takes almost no time to put together and you can add whatever you want to the dish. I usually make it with onions and peppers, but I’ve used mushrooms, zucchini, carrots — whatever I have on hand. You really can’t go wrong. And a meal like this looks so pretty on a January night.

CHICKEN STIR FRY

Serves 4

  • 1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breast, cubed
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, sliced
  • Garlic, 2 cloves, diced
  • Soy Sauce, several shakes of the bottle (depending on your taste)
  • Green, red and yellow peppers, one of each, diced

Heat a skillet over medium high heat. Add olive oil. Swirl in pan. Add onions. Saute for a minute. Add garlic. Saute another minute. Add the chicken. Add the soy sauce until the chicken is covered and you don’t worry about burning the garlic or onions. (Roughly a tablespoon of soy sauce, but it’s really up to you and your tastes.)

Cook chicken until it is no longer pink in the center, about 8 minutes.

Reduce heat to medium low. Add peppers. Stir and let cook for a couple of minutes. Not too long because you want them to maintain their crispness.

Serve over rice and enjoy the rest of your night!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

