Spring cleaning — in the middle of a winter storm

My kids don’t have school today, so I took the day off, too.

The sacrifices you make as a parent.

I woke up to several inches of snow on the ground, sleet from the sky and the threat of more snow coming. Travel was not advised, so we stayed home. My daughter played video games and read, my son played outside (he’s part Eskimo), and I brought two bags of recipes ripped from magazines up from my basement to the living room.

This is about two years' worth of recipes ripped from magazines, printed from the computer or received in the mail. I had no idea it had gotten so out of control. That is not like me at all!

For the next four hours, I sorted the papers, tossing recipes that didn’t look or read appetizing (What was I thinking when I clipped that recipe?) in the recycling bin. I went from two bags to one. Victory! But then I still had to organize what was left.

Is there nothing a binder can't do?

I pasted the recipes on to plain copy paper, which I then filed by the appropriate category in the binder (breakfast, dinner, side dishes, etc.). My goal is to, eventually, have a separate binder for each category. I’ll then number the pages so that these recipes can be part of my recipe box plan.

It’s scary how much I love to organize things. I told a friend of mine if I ever ran for president, organization would be my platform. Organization and recycling.

Leave a Reply

