Let me see your casserole

Me: I’m making chicken spaghetti for dinner tonight.

My husband smiles at me but he’s thinking ‘What the hell is chicken spaghetti? Why do I have to eat it? What do I say if I don’t like it because you got really mad that time I didn’t compliment the pumpkin pie you made and only admitted defeat hours later when you tasted it and realized you left out the sugar.’

Out loud he says ‘OK.’

Chicken spaghetti is yet another recipe from The Pioneer Woman. Seriously, if you don’t read her blog, you must start. Right now. If you don’t follow her on Twitter, rectify that mistake immediately. Buy her cookbook and write her a thank you note for creating it. Be sure to mention me so we can become best friends. I’ll visit her ranch and watch as she makes onion strings without sirens blaring.

She’ll be the one to give me that pony I’ve been asking for …

Anyway, chicken spaghetti. It’s a casserole. I don’t make casseroles. I don’t know anyone who does, actually. But I think more people would if they had this recipe.

 

This isn’t the prettiest picture in the world, but didn’t your mama ever tell you that its what’s on the inside that counts? And inside of this is cream of mushroom, cheese, onions, green pepper and chicken all surrounded by yummy noodles, just begging you to snuggle in your pajama pants and watch The Office  reruns while enjoying a plate of the deliciousness. In fact, fate will make sure it is Jim and Pam’s wedding episode, which makes the evening even more perfect.

Me: What do you think?

My husband: This needs to be part of the dinner rotation. Every week.

Well done, Pioneer Woman. Well done.

(P.S. Can my pony be a girl? I want to name her Isabella.)

Leave a Reply

